Zion was organized in 1773 by Palatine settlers. The first church at this location was called the Brick Church. One of the first Sunday Schools in New York State was organized here in 1826. Zion and St. Matthew's merged in 1971 and maintain a unique and special relationship of being one congregation with two locations.
Zion church building was built in 1868 with additions added in 1904 and 1962. Because of its large sanctuary, excellent acoustics and pipe organ, many community musical events are held here